> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://captivatedllc.mintlify.site/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Users

> Add and manage users in Captivated, including role permissions, teams, queues, contact cards, and restoring deleted users.

## Add a New User Video Walkthrough

![](https://play.vidyard.com/mx9ZwBJXPtNrJEwNzY9rBx.jpg)

## Add a New User Step by Step Instructions

To add a new user, navigate to the users tile then select 'Add User'.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.24.24%20PM.png)

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.26.05%20PM.png)

You will be prompted to first add their email address. The email address input will become their user name and be shown on their contact card. Best practice is to use their work email address. Once you have entered their email address, please select "create a new user account for"

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.28.53%20PM.png)

Enter their first and last name and choose their **role permission (manager, member or administrator) by selecting the role drop-down.**

There are three role permissions:

1. **Administrator** – has access to the administration section (gear icon), meaning they can see billing, add users/teams/queues and can request and make changes to the account configuration. Highest level of access.
2. **Manager** – can see conversations across the entire organization when changing their [conversation filter](/features/conversation-filtering-and-searching) from "mine" to "everyone". This includes conversations they did not start and are not joined to.
3. **Member** – can only see conversations they initiate or are joined to\*\*.\*\* No change happens when switching their conversation filter from "mine" to "everyone". Lowest level of access.

Also, make sure to enter their **personal** cell phone number. Do not enter the business landline/VOIP here. **NOTE: this personal cell number field will not be shared with any contact.** It is used for our click to call feature. Learn more about [outbound calling](/features/outbound-calling) here.

Then hit the double carrot to open up the Advanced Settings. Advanced Settings are only available to an administrator to edit.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.34.31%20PM.png)

To learn more about the advanced settings navigate to these pages:

– [Two-Factor Authentication](/integrations/two-factor-authentication-2fa)

– [Announcements](/features/announcements)

– [Internal Announcements](/premium-features/team-chat)

– [Contact Import](/features/importing-contacts)

– [Template creation](/features/templates)

The default signature will append as such: First Name \~ Organization Name and will append to the initial outbound message. Feel free to adjust those signature settings as needed in this section.

Under Notification Settings, you can choose the time zone and working hours.

Notification settings can be adjusted at any time by the user in their [My Profile](/getting-started/setting-up-my-profile) section.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.40.36%20PM.png)

Once you have added the user, they will show in the list of users. You'll notice each User's role is listed in the first column – if that User has access to send [announcements](/features/announcements), then you will see the megaphone icon next to the User's role.

To the right of the User's role, you'll see the User's current status (green means the user is online and red indicates the user is offline.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-07-at-3.46.56%20PM.png)

## Managing Users Video Walkthrough

![](https://play.vidyard.com/iv1cRdaKx7hnL6QCEjprDM.jpg)

## Resend Invitation, Reset Password, Remove From Account, Delete User

There are several actions available for an admin on the users page. These options are also available after selecting on a specific user. To do that hit on the name on of the user highlighted in blue. But first let's go through the definitions of each.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-08-at-10.04.33%20AM.png)

## Resend Invitation

There are several actions available for an admin on the users page. First, let's look at 'resend invitation'. An email invitation is sent out immediately after adding a new user following the instructions above. **New users must create their password using this emailed invitation.** They cannot just head to app.captivated.works and enter their email address and hit forgot password as that will error out. In the event the user cannot find the emailed invitation, an admin can resend the invitation. Make sure the user looks for an email titled "XYZ Organization has invited you to join Captivated".

## Reset Password

Admins can send a user an emailed password reset. Users can also initiate their own by heading to the login page at app.captivated.works and selecting "forgot password".

## Remove From Account

This option will only show if you have multiple accounts under one organization. However, if you'd like to remove a user just from the particular account you are under but NOT the entire organization, you can do that here.

## Delete User

Use this option to delete a user from the organization. Deleted users will lose access to Captivated immediately but they can be later restored if needed. Scroll down below to learn how to restore a deleted user.

Once you select this option, additional options will populate. Hover over the question mark icon for each to learn more about what they mean.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2025-08-27-at-2.15.46%20PM.png)

## Adding a User to Teams, Queues and Viewing Contact Card

To manage a current User, click on their name in blue to open the record. Notice the 4 tabs at the top of the record.

In the General tab, you'll see basic information, along with the same buttons that were on the previous screen: Resend Invitation, Reset Password, Remove User From Account and Delete User. The Edit button in the top right will allow you to make changes to the User's basic information (for example, email address, phone number, first/last name).

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-08-at-10.19.38%20AM.png)

## Add User to a Team

In the Teams tab, you'll see a list of any and all [teams](/administration/admin-teams) that this User has been assigned to, what their [role](/administration/admin-teams) is on each team, and the Actions list will allow you to Edit Membership or Remove from Team. Also in this screen, you have the ability to add the User to a new team by clicking the "+Add this user to another team" button.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-08-at-10.23.54%20AM.png)

## Add User as an Operator of the Queue

The Queues tab is similar to the Team tab – it shows you each [Queue(s)](/administration/admin-queues) this user is an [operator](/administration/admin-queues) of. If the preview mode is enabled for the user, an operator can preview conversations in the queue prior to taking them or assigning them. The trash icon will remove the User from the queue. You can also add this user to another queue by using the green button.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-08-at-10.28.55%20AM.png)

## Contact Card

In the Contact Card tab, you'll see the user's information. This information that is displayed when the user exchanges or shares their contact card via text. You have the ability to edit this user's contact card by clicking the Edit button in the top right corner. Make sure to save any changes you make at the bottom of the page.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2022/08/Screen-Shot-2022-08-04-at-11.59.52-AM.png)

## Download Users, View Removed Users

From the users screen, you can also download your list of users to a CSV. To do that, just use the download button.

Additionally, use the filters on the right to view only active users, only removed users or all.

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2024-05-08-at-10.49.06%20AM.png)

## Restoring a Deleted User

Restore a deleted user by clicking the "removed" filter. Then select "actions" > restore deleted user.

Make sure to add them back to the proper teams after restoring them

![](https://learn.captivated.works/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Screenshot-2025-07-18-at-10.48.04%20AM.png)
