What Is a Channel?
A channel is an avenue customers can use to communicate with your business through Captivated. Depending on your account, your channels may include:- SMS Channels — Phone numbers customers can call or text.
- Website Texts — Conversations started through the texting option on your website.
- Live Chat — Live chat conversations started from your website, if enabled.
- Secure Chat — Secure conversations used to exchange sensitive information.
View Your Channels
To view the channels associated with your account:- Select the gear icon to open Administration.
- Select Channels.
- Channel name and type
- Where incoming conversations are routed (user or queue)
- Assigned campaign
- Brand name
Understand Channel Routing
Each channel determines where a new inbound conversation is sent. A channel can route to a Queue or directly to a User.
If a channel routes to a Queue, you’ll see the Queue associated with that channel. If it routes directly to a user, you’ll see the user’s name.
View Channel Details
Select a channel name to view its configuration and details. Depending on the channel type, you may see:- Phone number
- Routing destination
- Inbound call forwarding number
- Compliance Profile
- Registration Link and QR Code
- Sharing permissions
- Signature preferences
- Brand information
Registration Link & QR Code
SMS channels may include a unique Registration Link and QR Code that can be used to collect customer opt-ins. You can add your Registration Link or QR Code to places such as:- Websites
- Email communications
- Printed materials
- Customer onboarding materials
- In-store signage
- Open Administration > Channels.
- Select the channel.
- Locate the Registration Link or QR Code.
- Copy the Registration Link or preview and download the QR Code.
How Registration Works
When a customer registers through your Registration Link or QR Code, Captivated initiates the opt-in process. The customer must complete the required confirmation to finish registering for text communications.Administrators can review applicable opt-in language and settings under Administration > Compliance Profiles.
Manage Channel Access
The Sharing settings determine which users can send outbound messages from a particular channel. You can provide access to:Add Channel Access
- Open the channel.
- Select Sharing.
- Choose Add Another Team or User.
- Select the Team or User.
- Save your changes.
Remove Channel Access
Remove the Team or User from the Sharing section and save your changes.Channel sharing controls who can send outbound messages from the channel. It does not determine where new inbound conversations are routed.
Edit Channel Settings
Administrators can select Edit to manage available channel settings. Depending on your channel type and account configuration, these may include:- Channel Name
- Routing Destination
- Inbound Call Forwarding
- Signature Preferences
- Compliance Profile
- Brand Name and Registration Information
- Unjoin Users When Conversations Are Completed
Unjoin Users When Conversations Are Completed
When this setting is enabled, users are automatically unjoined when a conversation is completed. If that customer texts again later, the new inbound message follows the channel’s routing rules rather than automatically returning to the users who previously participated in the conversation.Add or Remove a Channel
Adding or removing a channel may require assistance from Captivated. Use the Support option within Captivated to contact our Support team for help making changes to the channels associated with your account.Need Help?
If you have questions about channel routing, permissions, registration, or configuration, contact Captivated Support using the Support option within Captivated or text (317) 316-3600.