Skip to main content
Opt-out status applies to the specific channel/phone number the contact opted out from. Once opted out, your business cannot send outbound messages to that contact from that channel unless the contact opts back in.

Opting Out and Back In 90 Second Video Walkthrough

When a Contact Opts Out

A contact can opt out by replying STOP. Once the contact opts out, they will receive the following confirmation: “You have opted out of our texting service. If you would like to opt back in, simply send another text.” Captivated will then prevent outbound messages to that contact from the affected channel. The message field will be disabled, and Users will not be able to type or send an outbound message. Opted out conversation

Manually Opt Out a Contact

If a contact asks your business to stop texting them but does not specifically reply STOP, you can manually opt them out.
  1. Open the contact’s details within the conversation.
  2. Locate the Opt Out option.
  3. Select Opt Out to prevent additional messages from being sent to the contact on that channel.
Manually opt out a contact
If a contact asks to stop receiving text messages, honor their request and opt them out rather than continuing to message them because they didn’t use the word “STOP.”

Opting a Contact Back In

If a contact opted out accidentally or later wants to resume texting with your business, the contact must initiate the opt-in.
To opt back in, the contact can send another inbound text message to the channel they previously opted out from.
Once they do, Captivated will indicate within the conversation when the contact opted out and when they opted back in. Opt out and opt back in inline After the contact has opted back in, your business can resume communicating with them on that channel.

Need Help?

Questions about a contact’s opt-in or opt-out status? Chat with Captivated Support using the Support option in the left-hand menu or text 317.316.3600.